My Tea Break

Rediscovering Tea around the world

Afternoon Tea

2 Comments

It was not until the end of the 18th century that the tradition of the Afternoon Tea was introduced by the Duchess of Bedford. The duchess found it hard not to eat between lunch and dinner and therefore started drinking tea and eating some snacks between four and five o clock, making it what it is today!

Nowadays, we are too busy for such a relaxed lifestyle so we treat ourselves, on special occassions, to Afternoon Tea in places like hotels and tea rooms.

Afternoon Tea is mostly composed of scones with clotted cream and strawberry jam, sandwiches (smoked salmon, ham, cucumber, chicken) and Tea pastries and cakes like Victoria sponge.

I am having Afternoon Tea at the Ritz Hotel next Sunday with my husband! I will let you know how it goes! Stay tuned!!

Mariana!

2 thoughts on “Afternoon Tea

  1. Well done to the Duchess of Bedford for creating such a wonderful tradition. Enjoy the Ritz, the tea there is divine and they replenish the sandwiches so do not wear anything too tight 🙂

  2. Howdy! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thank you