My Tea Break

Rediscovering Tea around the world

Seven Bowls of Tea by Lu Tong

5 Comments

In China, Tea is not only an important part of the daily life but also an essense of the Chinese culture and history.  As Wang Anshi (1021-1086) a famous political reformer and literate of the Song Dynasty once said: “Tea is as indispensable in daily life as rice and salt“. Chinese Tea is also closely linked with Chinese Daoism, Buddhism and Confucianism.

As I am in China during this week I will be sharing everything that I learn about the Chinese Tea culture but I would like to start today by sharing a poem from Lu Tong, a poet during the Chinese Tang Dynasty who studied the Tea culture and wrote several poems about Tea.

Chinese Tea tasting party during the Tang dynasty

“The first cup caresses my dry lips and throat.
The second shatters the walls of my lonely sadness.
The third searches the dry rivulets of my soul to find the stories of five thousand scrolls.
With the fourth the pain of life’s grievances evaporates through my pores.
The fifth relaxes my muscles and bones become light.
With the sixth I find the path that leads to the immortal ancestors.
Oh the seventh cup! Better not take it! If I had it the only feeling
Is the fresh wind blowing through my wings,
As I make my way to Penglai.”

Lu Tong, Seven Bowls of Tea

Happy Tea Break.

Tania

5 thoughts on “Seven Bowls of Tea by Lu Tong

  1. This is a good blog. Keep up all the work. I too love to this blog. This is great every person sharing opinions. Magnificent post, very informative. You must continue your writing. I’m confident, you have a great readers’ base already!

  2. Hi We?m so delighted We identified your own site, We basically discovered you by mistake, while I was looking for on Yahoo for one stage else, Anyhow We?michael the following now as well as would just need to thank you for just about any great publish in addition to a all round enjoyable weblog (I also get pleasure from the actual theme/design), We really do not have enough time to go by means of everything within the second however I?ng saved this and also additional your own Rss rss feeds, so when i have time I is going to be back to check out much more, Please do continue the great work

    • Thank you very much for your comments! Please come back to check our blog, as we will continue to work hard and talk about more exciting Tea themes and experiences!
      Happy Tea Time! 🙂

  3. Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful info specially the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this certain information for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.