My Tea Break

Rediscovering Tea around the world

Blooming Teas

4 Comments

Hey everyone,

Today we are going to talk about these amazing hand crafted flowering Teas. The Tea leaves are carefully sort it and hand-sewn, with cotton thread, to the fresh flowers – imagine the amount of work! These Teas are originally from Yunnan region in China. Blooming Tea is usually made with green tea (although you also can find it with white and oloong Teas) and different aromatic  flowers like globe amaranth, chrysanthemum, jasmine, lily, hibiscus and osmanthus.

How to prepare:

1. You should serve these Teas in a glass pot, so that you experience the beautiful flower blossoming! 2. Use just 1 tea bulb for 300ml (10oz) of water;  3. The water should be heated 85°C (180°F); 4. Do not serve the Tea until the flower has opened (about 3 minutes); 4. You can use the same bulb up to 3 infusions.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mnH3EAES8_8&NR=1&feature=fvwp

These Teas are great gifts – each tea bulb costs between £0.80 and £1,5.

You can find these Teas in different shops, like the The Chinese Tea Company, in Portobello rd, London; or buy it online – http://jingtea.com/tea/flowering-tea,

– http://www.cantonteaco.com/flowering-tea.html?gclid=CPPChvWGsKgCFQRP4QodQREMHg

Have a great long weekend, Mariana!

4 thoughts on “Blooming Teas

  1. I really do enjoy blooming teas. I’ve got a set of clear glass pots just for them, they are so beautiful once they have bloomed. My favorite are the ones with jasmine in them. Great post!

  2. Thank you very much! I agree with you, they are beautiful and we do enjoy them very much! Jasmine is our favourite, as well! 🙂

    Happy Tea time!

  3. Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, fantastic blog!

  4. This website is my intake , real good design and perfect subject matter.