My Tea Break

Rediscovering Tea around the world

Scented Teas

2 Comments

As explained previously Tea not only have different categories based on the fermentation level (White, Yellow, Green, Oolong, Black) but they can also have different modification methods.

The modification methods will change the character of the Tea leaves after they are initially produced. This includes crafted Teas, compressed Teas, scented or flavoured Teas, blended Teas, powdered Teas and ready to drink Teas.

Today I will focus on the scented Teas, which is extremely popular in North China but also in Western Countries. Dried Tea leaves absorb odours and flavours very easily and therefore Tea masters use the fragrant essence of flowers like roses, osmanthus, jasmine among others to create scented Teas.

Rose Buds

The process vary depending on the quality of the Tea and the flower variety.

In the traditional way of scenting Tea, Tea leaves and flowers are layered one after the

Jasmine Scented Tea

other as a multi-layer  sandwich. The heat of the flowers inside Tea layers releases the fragrance which is then absorbed by the Tea leaves. In some occasions, the flower and Tea mix needs to be laid in a low temperature oven to force the scenting. The flowers are then removed. 

Other modern ways of scenting include spraying Tea leaves with extracts or chemicals, or mixing flowers or flower parts in the Tea leaves.

Scented Tea should not be confused with blended Tea, which involves mixing different Teas and other ingredients to create a certain “blend”.

One of my favourite scented Teas is the Jasmine Pearls Green Tea and I will share some information about this during the next post. Stay tuned!

Happy Tea Break.

Tania

2 thoughts on “Scented Teas

  1. I find a lot of commercial scented teas taste just aweful; its almost like they spray the tea with perfume. yuck. But these are the cheap teas, I do enjoy rose 🙂 Great post.

  2. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% sure. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you