My Tea Break

Rediscovering Tea around the world

Milk with Tea or Tea with Milk?

1 Comment

Since we started the blog, many people have asked us, what is the correct way of mixing Tea and milk – should the milk be poured into the Tea, or the Tea into the milk?

When Tea arrived in Europe, people did not drink it with milk. However, at the end of the 17th century, adding milk to the cup started to spread, as it would soften the bitter taste of the Tea. By the 18th century British people would add milk to all kinds of Teas – this costume also spread to all British colonies.

Let me tell you that there is no easy answer… some people are of the view that the milk should be poured into the Tea as it is an easy way of controlling the colour and strength of the Tea. These people also say it is a question of etiquette.

Other people say that you should put the milk first, as the two liquids will mix better.

So, I guess it is a question of personal taste. I don´t drink milk, so for me its easy!!

Happy Tea Break,

Mariana!

One thought on “Milk with Tea or Tea with Milk?

  1. When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Thanks!