My Tea Break

Rediscovering Tea around the world

New Tea Lover’s Treasury – a great Tea book

13 Comments

Reading while drinking Tea is one my favourite things. So I couldn’t be more happier last June when my good friend Dia Marchionne gave me a great Tea Present – “New Tea Lover’s Treasury” by James Norwood Pratt.

Source: booklover.tumblr.com via Prof on Pinterest

James Norwood Pratt is one of the world’s leading authors on Tea with over twenty years of devoted exploration and passion and several books published such as “James Norwood Pratt’s Tea Dictionary”, “The Tea Lover’s Companion”, “Reading Tea Leaves”. JNP was named Honorary Director of Imperial Tea Court, America’s first traditional Chinese teahouse which opened in 1993 in San Francisco.

Being from North Carolina, JNP remember Tea from his childhood. Later on,  JNP moved to California and became a wine critic. However he had to turn to Tea.

JNP says “Wine, once my friend, my beloved, had turn into my deadliest enemy. With no expectation of ever again finding her equal, I turned to Tea, as much out of despair as self-defense. (…) At first it was simply a fluid safe to drink in great quantities and therefore suitable for a compulsive drinker such as myself. Tea gives you something to do and satisfied my need for ritual observances, occupying my hands not with glass and corkscrew but objects still more pleasurable to handle and behold. Importantly I found it is a social drink to share and create occasions with friends. After many months my alcohol-ravaged sensibilities also began to notice that Tea, while no intoxicant, most definitely produces a high all its own – a state of heightened alertness, of tranquility and freedom from care, of ruddy cheeks and sparkling conversation. Tea exhilarates.” (Pratt, 1999)

The book explores the history of Tea, the various Teas around the world, the producing regions and its characteristics, Tea rituals and advice on preparation.

Tea will never taste the same after you read this book.

I couldn’t agree with the following quote from the book: “People who grew up believing Tea is just a commodity like oatmeal are discovering it is a beverage like wine, but one you can drink all day long. Once a person learns, usually from friends, how Tea is made a daily practice, it becomes more than just a product, but one’s ally in greeting the morn and companion solacing the midnight. Tea Life, you might call.” (Pratt, 1999)

13 thoughts on “New Tea Lover’s Treasury – a great Tea book

  1. unique home decor
    If a new article becomes available or if perhaps any changes occur on the current publication, I would be interested in reading a lot more and finding out how to make good usage of those approaches you discuss. unique home decor

  2. The 30 second smile
    30 Second Smile Immediately after study several with the sites within your internet site today, and I actually including your own technique connected with blogging. My partner and i saved the idea for you to our book mark internet site record and will also be looking at yet again shortly. Could you look at our site seeing that very well and let me know what you imagine.

  3. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! However, how could we communicate?

  4. I’ve been surfing online greater than three hours nowadays, yet I never discovered any interesting article like yours. It is beautiful value enough for me. In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made just right content as you did, the internet can be much more useful than ever before. “Dreams have as much influence as actions.” by Stephane Mallarme.

  5. I’m still learning from you, while I’m making my way to the top as well. I certainly liked reading everything that is written on your website New Tea Lover’s Treasury – a great Tea book | My Tea Break Keep the aarticles coming. I loved it!

  6. I went over this web site New Tea Lover’s Treasury – a great Tea book | My Tea Break and I believe you have a lot of great info, saved to fav (:.

  7. Very superb information can be found on web blog.

  8. I real glad to find this website on bing, just what I was searching for : D as well saved to fav.

  9. I don’t ordinarily comment but I gotta state thankyou for the post on this perfect one : D.

  10. Some truly choice content on this web site , saved to my bookmarks .