My Tea Break

Rediscovering Tea around the world

Yoga and Tea

8 Comments

Some people start their new year resolutions in January but I usually do it in October because that’s when my work gets less stressful and I start thinking about my life balance. As always, I finish the month of September thinking that I need to pay more attention and care about my health and spiritual development and spend more time with family, friends and enjoying things that I like.

So I decided to start yoga classes at Casa Vinaysa in Lisbon. As soon as you enter the door you feel relaxed and at home and you are welcome to serve youself a cup of Tea.

Source: None via Tania on Pinterest

Tea is often offered at the end of a yoga session as a bridge between yoga and the high-intensity pace outside.

While drinking Tea it’s not a ritualised process in itself, the tradition of combining Tea after yoga has an ancient connection.

Yogi Bhajan, is a master of Kundalini  Yoga and a famous Indian Spiritual Teacher, who brought Kundalini Yoga to the West. He gave his first Kundalini Yoga in LA in 1969.  After each yoga class, he served a special spice drink to his students, which they affectionately named “Yogi Tea”. The Tea was a blend of five spices: cardamom, cinnamon, clove, ginger and black pepper. Following Ayurvedic medicine, a form of alternative medicine that is traditional in India , this combination has unique and healthy properties.

Many people believe that Tea helps build the connection to ourselves and to those around us . Tea helps achieving relaxation, bringing harmony and connecting with each-other as a family. In addition to the positive mental connections to drinking Tea, the beneficial properties of Tea builds on those that you receive from practicing yoga.

Source: None via Missy on Pinterest

Drinking a cup of Tea and practicing  yoga  just seems a natural combination and together you will get a sense of calmness, simplicity,  health and inner peace. 

Happy Tea Break.

Tania

8 thoughts on “Yoga and Tea

  1. I like this idea and is something that I don’t currently do at my yoga classes with my students. I will put some thought into it and of course, will put the kettle on.

  2. Your point is valueble for me. Thanks!

    My site:
    rachat credit ligne et rachat de credit pas cher

  3. Its a great post indeed. It let us know that Yoga is not only about exercising or stretching our body health but due to this we can make ourselves relax and it makes our mind fresh.

    Actually I find out about Article related about http://www.1bikramyoga.info, but I can’t found it on Google, hope you can write that topic for me, it’s my pleasure to visit again your website .. ^_^

  4. truly inspiring and creative thinking within the way you use your words. I wish someday my writing skills would be on the same level as yours.

  5. I really like gathering useful info, this post has got me even more info! .

  6. I like the efforts you have put in this, appreciate it for all the great posts .