My Tea Break

Rediscovering Tea around the world

Green Tea may help trim bad cholesterol

13 Comments

A recent U.S study* shows that green Tea may help trim bad cholesterol.

The research, published in the Journal of the American Dietetic Association, pooled the results of 20 clinical trials that involved a total of 1,415 adults and shows that green Tea trimmed 5 to 6 points more from people’s total cholesterol and “bad” LDL cholesterol levels than other treatments.

Source: oldermommystillyummy.blogspot.com via Monica on Pinterest

The trials tested green Tea in a cup or capsules containing green Tea compounds. Green Tea in a cup was more consistently effective than capsules, though the benefits overall were fairly small, noted senior researcher Olivia Phung, an assistant professor of pharmacy at Western University of Health Sciences in Pomona, California.

Olivia Phung also suggests that if someone is already taking medicine for their cholesterol they should stick with it but adding green Tea to the diet could further improve the cholesterol results.

There are other questions too, including what dose of green tea catechins is ideal, but the researchers were unable to test for a “dose-response” effect, which would have shown whether the cholesterol benefits increase as the catechin dose goes up.

Source: delightfulmomstuff.blogspot.com via Jenica on Pinterest

Despite the positive health benefits, Green Tea should always be taken in moderation as it contains caffeine.

Happy Tea Break.

Tania

 *(Source: Reporting from New York by Amy Norton at Reuters Health; editing by Elaine Lies and Idayu Suparto)
13 thoughts on “Green Tea may help trim bad cholesterol

  1. Great wordpress blog here.. It’s hard to find quality writing like yours these days. I really appreciate people like you! take care

  2. I love it when people come together and share opinions, great blog, keep it up.

  3. Hello, your blog is full of good informations. Thanks

  4. My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was totally right. This post actually made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  5. It’s great you’ve decided to share this with us.

  6. Excellent post it is really. We’ve been awaiting for this info.

  7. Excellent goods from you, man. Green Tea may help trim bad cholesterol | My Tea Break I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely fantastic. I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it wise. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is really a wonderful Green Tea may help trim bad cholesterol | My Tea Break informations.

  8. Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  9. Green tea is good for health and I do agree with you, I use to drink Green tea twice a day. green tea is an anti-oxidant.

  10. Pretty impressive post, thumbs up for the great work.

  11. Green tea is an anti-oxidant, thus it is good for your health.

  12. Awesome design! How had you get that design?