My Tea Break

Rediscovering Tea around the world

Interview with Valerie Peyre, from Tekoe

12 Comments

When I moved to Lausanne I met Valerie, by coincidence. I have got to known her better for the past months, as well as her big passion for Tea. I have a big admiration for Valerie – her hard work, creativity, simplicity, and mainly the fact her life is lead by her passion. Thank you for your example!

Tekoe is a great concept with simple lines and high quality Tea – from plain Teas as Sencha, Houjicha, Darjeeling, Assam; to the most well known blends like English Breakfast, Earl Grey; and also, their own (amazing) creative blends! You can be sure that at Tekoe you will be very well welcomed by all the great staff.

In this interview you get to know a little bit more about Valerie and Tekoe. Enjoy!

Tekoe shop, Bern

Tekoe shop, Bern

M&T. When and how did you begin your Tea journey? I began my tea journey a long time ago, when I was 16 and I had been offered a cup of tea with a beautiful loose leaf tea. I had never tried before. It was magic. I never drank coffee.

M&T. What can you tell us about Tekoe? Tekoe is a concept of new, modern and urban tea bars and tea shops. It is a place where you can discover the best teas of the world and original blends. A place where you can have a tea at any time.

M&T. How do you explain the path to your success? Passion, hard work, honnesty and quality. I think because of the quality of the tea and all the “heart” we put in our tea selection and tea blends, plus our ethics for business, people really like our tea shops and the service we have. It has been a lot of work but it’s a beautiful human adventure. The original and unique blends we create are also a key in our success. Being creative is something important for us and we are trying to “amaze and surprise” our clients every day with new ideas.

M&T. What has been Tekoe’s best achievement?  To have people come to our shops saying “I had no idea what a good tea was before I tried yours”. To have clients who never drank tea before and now are drinking tea every day. Including young people. To give people the possibility to have a good and healthy beverage in their daily life and still having “fun” while discovering new teas.

M&T. What do you want people to feel when they drink a Tekoe cup of Tea? Emotions! Peace, well-being, escape and indulgence.

Haute-nendaz

Haute-nendaz

M&T. Which has been the most wonderful Tea plantation you have ever been? It’s difficult to say because usually the plantation area in the high mountains are all gorgeous. It’s a breathtaking and peaceful landscape and it’s a real pleasure to share the passion of people who work in the tea plantations. I have a sincere and deep respect for them. They are part of the landscape.

The Darjeeling plantations are amazing with the Himmalyan chain in the background, but Sri Lanka, Fujian, Yunnan, Shizuoka are also beautiful and many others.

M&T. Can you describe how Tea makes you feel in one word?  A good cup of Tea makes me feel at peace.

M&T. Do you have a Favourite Tea?  NO, I don’t have only one favourite tea…I love Gyokuro, Maofengs, Dragon Pearls, Yunnan, Qimen, Ceylan, Darjeelings…etc. Depends on my mood, the time of the day, the season. This is what I love about tea. The diversity is so rich that you can always find a tea for yourself. I rarely drink flavoured teas. I prefer genuine teas.

M&T. What is a perfect cup of Tea?  The one that gives you pleasure and emotions.

For more information abou Tekoe, please check their website: http://www.tekoe.com/

Happy Tea Break,

Mariana!

12 thoughts on “Interview with Valerie Peyre, from Tekoe

  1. blog.myteabreak.com has interesting content
    [url=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9adFrWGWpU8]is hydroxycut safe[/url]

  2. An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  3. An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  4. I was very pleased to find this web-site.I wanted to thanks for your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

  5. I was extremely pleased to come across this online site.I wanted to thank you for your time writting this wonderful article!! I absolutely enjoying every tiny amount of it and I have you book-marked to check out your new articles.

  6. I just wanted to make a simple remark to appreciate you for these wonderful pointers you are giving at this site. My rather long internet research has now been paid with really good concept to exchange with my best friends. I ‘d suppose that most of us visitors actually are undoubtedly fortunate to dwell in a fantastic community with very many wonderful people with insightful pointers. I feel extremely happy to have come across the webpages and look forward to really more amazing moments reading here. Thanks a lot once again for a lot of things.

  7. Mhm, perfect layout ;).

  8. Thank you a tremendous put up, would see your personal others posts. i appreciate your ideas with this, I soon became a lttle bit strike by this article. Merit again! You earn a great moment. Has wonderful data here. I think that in case more people considered it like this, they’d have got a better time frame have the suspend ofing the issue.

  9. Awesome layout! Where did you get this layout?

  10. Awesome blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally confused .. Any suggestions? Kudos!

  11. Hello! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My website looks weird when viewing from my apple iphone. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to fix this problem. If you have any recommendations, please share. Thanks!

  12. I genuinely prize your work , Great post.