My Tea Break

Rediscovering Tea around the world

A Very Large Cup of Tea

20 Comments

One of the best things about having this blog is that we’re constantly being inspired by our Tea Friends.

A Tea friend recently sent me a photo of David Shrigley’s sculpture ‘Very Large Cup of Tea’ (2012) part of the Brain Activity exhibition on show at the Hayward’s Gallery in London. David Shrigley is known for focusing on the more mundane, comforting aspects of life in his art.

Born in Macclesfield in 1968, David Shrigley has lived in Glasgow since moving there to study Environmental Art at Glasgow School of Art in 1988. Brain Activity is his first complete survey of the UK and the largest Shrigley’s exhibition to date.

The sculpture is a constantly evolving gigantic cup made from glazed ceramic which is replenished with real Tea (with milk and now sugar) every two to three days.

This exhibition is available until May 13th so it is definitely on my “to do list” for next month. 🙂

Happy Tea Break.

Tania

20 thoughts on “A Very Large Cup of Tea

  1. Thanks for this article. This is a pretty fascinating article. I will return very soon.

  2. Hello.This article was really motivating, especially since I was searching for thoughts on this topic last week.

  3. Enjoyed looking through this, very good stuff, appreciate it.

  4. I simply want to say I am beginner to blogging and site-building and honestly loved this website. Likely I’m want to bookmark your blog . You really have good well written articles. Kudos for sharing your web-site.

  5. Riveting article – thank you. This is a very entertaining blog. Thanks!

  6. Very fascinating post. I felt your blog post is truly absorbing. Thanks over again – I will come back.

  7. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme? Superb work!

  8. Wow! Thank you! I permanently needed to write on my website something like that. Can I include a part of your post to my blog?

  9. Hey! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to take a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Terrific blog and terrific design and style.

  10. I’m impressed, I need to say. Actually rarely do I encounter a blog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you will have hit the nail on the head. Your concept is outstanding; the difficulty is one thing that not enough persons are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy that I stumbled throughout this in my search for something referring to this.

  11. I besides believe thence , perfectly indited post! .

  12. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn something like this before. So good to seek out any person with some original ideas on this subject. realy thanks for starting this up. this website is something that is needed on the net, someone with just a little originality. helpful job for bringing something new to the web!

  13. An attention-grabbing dialogue is price comment. I feel that you should write extra on this matter, it may not be a taboo topic however generally individuals are not sufficient to talk on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  14. Spot on with this write-up, I really suppose this web site wants rather more consideration. I’ll probably be again to read much more, thanks for that info.

  15. Outstandingly insightful bless you, I believe your followers might just want far more items such as this continue the good hard work.

  16. Great post. I’m going through many of these issues as well..

  17. This will be a great web page, will you be interested in doing an interview about how you created it? If so e-mail me!

  18. Hi! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Many thanks

  19. Glad to be one of several visitors on this awful website : D.

  20. Would love to forever get updated outstanding blog ! .